Thursday, September 21, 2023

LUNAR Announces Progressive New Album “The Illusionist” And Single “Juggling Chainsaws” Ft. Obscura’s Christian Münzner

Album Download + EPK HERE (for media use only – interview, review, airplay)

LUNAR Announces Progressive New Album “The Illusionist” And Single “Juggling Chainsaws” Ft. Obscura’s Christian Münzner

ft. members from Witherfall, Helion Prime, Planeswalker, Novareign. Mokili, Nordic Frost, Outloud, Double Vision

Album Guests Jørgen Munkeby (Shining), Christian Münzner (Obscura), Andy Gillion (Mors Principium Est),
Taylor Washington (Paladin), Sam Vallen (Caligula’s Horse), Ben Karas (Thank You Scientist), Gleb Kanasevich, Patrick Corona

Top – L- R – Ryan Price – Bass, Alex Nasla – Keyboards & Synthesizers, Chandler Mogel – Lead Vocals
Bottom – L – R – Alex Bosson – Drums & Percussion, Brian Lewis – Growl Vocals, Balmore Lemus – Guitars

Hailing from Sacramento, USA, Lunar is a progressive metal band that was founded in 2013 by longtime friends Alex Bosson (drums/percussion) (Helion Prime) and Ryan Erwin (guitar/vocals) (who passed away unexpectedly in 2018). The two together wrote the style of music that was always in their hearts: genre-defiant and free of restrictive influence over three albums. With the unexpected death of Ryan Erwin, band co-founder Alex Bosson continues the next chapter of Lunar with friends in Witherfall, Novareign. Mokili, Nordic Frost, Outloud, and Double Vision for the release of this year’s “The Illusionist”, the fourth album from the band. Optimistically, Bosson quotes that this album is likely to be the fan favorite, being the best they’ve done, with strong songwriting, and production; and songs that all sound different, but remain cohesive. The introduction to the album lies with the single“Juggling Chainsaws” featuring Obscura’s Christian Münzner, which Bosson explains:

“We want to come out of the gate swinging with this one. This is likely the most chaotic, most technical and heaviest song we’ve ever done in a lot of ways. There’s more musical complexity, including an incredible guest guitar solo from Christian Münzner. Lyrically, it conveys the character’s feeling of completely losing control. Constantly trying to juggle the chainsaws of life and keep them all in the air without something terrible happening.”

Listen to“Juggling Chainsaws” ft. Obscura’s Christian Münzner via its premiere onMetal-Rules HERE

Proggy and crazy, the Dream Theater and Haken influences are evident in this song. As for the album, is it a concept album that tells the story of a magician that questions his entire life’s work. He’s spent his entire life devoting himself to his craft and now he questions if it was worth it. Musically the album goes through many stages as the character does on this journey of himself. There are songs that are angry, songs that are confused, songs that are depressed, and everywhere in between.

recommended for fans of Opeth, Katatonia, and Haken, The nine-track album “The Illusionist” is being released on March 3, 2023, via Saibot Reign Records and can be pre-ordered via https://lunarbandofficial.bandcamp.com.

Track Listing:
1. Prestidigitation – 6:16
2. The Illusionist – 10:04
3. Showtime – 3:45
4. Worship The Sun – 5:23
5. Turn Off The World – 7:14
6. Disassembled – 5:53
7. Juggling Chainsaws – 7:30
8. For My Next Trick – 3:57
9 . Now You See Me – 8:39
Album Length: 58:46

Album Credits:
– Album Produced by: Alex Bosson
– Album Mixed by: Linus Coreliusson
– Album Mastered by: Jens Bogren
– Album artwork by: Travis Smith
– Album layout / design by: Brian Lewis
– Member of ASCAP

Recording Lineup:
Drums & Percussion – Alex Bosson
(Music – Track 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8,9) (Lyrics – Track 2, 3, 5, 6,9)
Guitars – Balmore Lemus
(Music – Track 4) (Lyrics – Track 4, 7
Bass – Ryan Price (Music – Track 8)
Keyboards & Synthesizers – Alex Nasla
Lead Vocals – Chandler Mogel
Growl Vocals – Brian Lewis
Clarinet – Gleb Kanasevich (Track 1)
Saxophone – Patrick Corona (Track 2)
Flute & Saxophone – Jørgen Munkeby (Track 6)
Violin & Viola – Ben Karas (Track 9)
Additional Guitar Solo – Andy Gillion (Track 2)
Additional Guitar Solo – Taylor Washington (Track 3)
Additional Guitar Solo – Sam Vallen (Track 5)
Additional Guitar Solo – Christian Münzner (Track 7)

Featured Posts Slider

BLACKLIST UNION Release New Single “Dirty Halo” + Official Music Video
Stream/Download Blacklist Union HERE https://youtu.be/QeF4pZx4wj8 Blacklist Union released their new single "Dirty Halo" from their upcoming release Letters from the…
Coventhrall launch their upcoming space adventure with the first single 
Coventhrall launch their upcoming space adventure with the first single Visual arts: Mario Lopez, Layout: Toni Bite Coventhrall is…
Rockshots Records – Out Now! Canada’s WALK WITH TITANS’ Debut Album “Olympian Dystopia”
Rockshots Records Signs Canada's WALK WITH TITANS For Debut Album "Olympian Dystopia" (Greek Myths Meet…
GEARS Announce New Single “ALL OR NOTHING”
Miami Hard Rock Heavyweights GEARS - Trip Sixx [vocals], Jimmy Wooten [drums], and Josh Rout [bass] release…
Modern alternative metal band VOLUCRINE releases new single “Old Friend”
Modern alternative metal band VOLUCRINEreleases new single "Old Friend" Photo: Antti Heikkilä The modern alternative metal outfit VOLUCRINE hailing from Kouvola,…

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: